Science for America will be directed by scientists and technologists with wide-ranging expertise, experiences, and perspectives, including a leadership team and staff, external strategic advisors, and external domain experts.

Current leadership and strategic advisors are listed below, with the group to expand in the months ahead.


Science for America Values

  • We take a scientific approach — being curious, creative, willing to challenge assumptions, open to new ideas, optimistic, and tenacious.
  • We strive for broad impact — aiming at ambitious, game-changing breakthroughs that address urgent human needs.
  • We value each other — being kind, supportive, inviting, encouraging, listening, and understanding.
  • We believe breakthroughs come from people with diverse perspectives collaborating on shared goals.


Eric Lander, Chief Scientist, Science for America. Lander is a member and was Founding Director of the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard; Professor of Biology, MIT; and Professor of Systems Biology, Harvard Medical School (currently on academic leave). Former Presidential Science Advisor and Director, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy; Former Co-Chair, President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology.

Kaitlin Browman, Chief Operating Officer, Science for America. Browman is a neuroscientist with more than 20 years of experience doing scientific research, strategic operations, and senior administration. She has experience building operations, strategies and teams and partnering with senior leaders to deliver on bold scientific missions, both in the biopharmaceutical industry and at non-profit research institutes.


Harry Atwater, Howard Hughes Professor and Professor of Applied Physics and Materials Science, California Institute of Technology; Member, National Academy of Engineering

Zhenan Bao, Department Chair and K. K. Lee Professor of Chemical Engineering, Stanford University; Member, National Academy of Engineering

Gilda Barabino, President and Professor of Biomedical and Chemical Engineering, Olin College of Engineering; Member, National Academy of Engineering and National Academy of Medicine

Luciana Borio, Venture Partner, ARCH; Former Vice President, In-Q-Tel; Former Director for Medical and Biodefense Preparedness, National Security Council; Former Acting Chief Scientist, US Food and Drug Administration; Member, National Academy of Medicine

Carla Brodley, Former Dean of the Khoury College of Computer Sciences and Current Dean of Inclusive Computing and Executive Director of the Center for Inclusive Computing at Northeastern University

Yet-ming Chiang. Kyocera Professor, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, MIT; Member, National Academy of Engineering

Yi Cui, Director, Precourt Institute for Energy; Professor of Materials Science, Stanford University

Michele Flournoy, Co-founder and Managing Partner of WestExec Advisors; Co-founder, Former CEO and current Board Chair of the Center for a New American Security (CNAS); and Former Undersecretary of Defense for Policy (2009-12).

Levi Garraway, Executive Vice President, Head of Product Development and Chief Medical Officer, Genentech, a member of the Roche Group. Former Senior Vice President, Oncology Research and Development & Novel Target Research, Eli Lilly and Company; Former Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute; Former Institute Member, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard; Member, National Academy of Medicine

Margaret Hamburg, Former Commissioner U.S. Food and Drug Administration; Past Board Chair, American Association for the Advancement of Science; Member and Former Foreign Secretary, National Academy of Medicine

Asegun Henry, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering at MIT, and Founder, Thermal Battery Corporation

Fei-Fei Li, Sequoia Professor of Computer Science and Denning Co-Director of Stanford Institute for Human-centered AI; Co-Founder and Chairperson of; and Former VP and Chief Scientist of Google Cloud; Member, National Academy of Engineering and National Academy of Medicine

John Lilly, Venture Partner, Greylock; Former CEO, Mozilla

Hemai Parthasarathy, Head of Rapid Evaluation, X, the moonshot factory

William Regan, Former Project Lead at X, the moonshot factory; Founder of the ARPA-E Alumni Network; former Fellow at ARPA-E

Aviv Regev, Executive Vice President, Head of Research and Early Development, Genentech, a member of the Roche Group. Founding co-Chair, Human Cell Atlas. Former Chair of the Faculty and Core Member, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard; Former Professor, MIT; Former Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Diego Rodriguez, Design Engineer, Technology Executive, and Educator: Former Chief Product & Design Officer, Intuit; Former Senior Partner at IDEO and Global Managing Director of IDEO Futures; Founding faculty, Hasso Plattner Institute of Design at Stanford (aka “the”)

Mike Schroepfer, Co-founder, Additional Ventures; Former Chief Technology Officer, Meta (Facebook)

Kevin Scott, Chief Technology Officer, Microsoft

Pamela Silver, Adams Professor of Systems Biology, Harvard Medical School, and Member, Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering, Harvard University

Christina Smolke, CEO, Antheia, Inc; Adjunct Professor and formerly Professor of Bioengineering, Stanford University

Shirley Tilghman, Professor of Molecular Biology and Public Affairs, and President Emerita, Princeton University; Member, National Academy of Engineering and National Academy of Medicine

Daniel Wattendorf, Director, Biotechnology Accelerator, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation; Former Program Manager, DARPA; Former Director, Air Force Medical Genetics Center

Strategic Advisors work with Science for America in an at-will, advisory, non-fiduciary capacity.